rcm glossary

International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding Systems (ICD-10-PCS)

ICD-10-PCS is a standardized medical coding system used to classify and report procedures performed in healthcare settings, ensuring accurate reimbursement and data analysis.

Accelerate your revenue cycle

Boost patient experience and your bottom line by automating patient cost estimates, payer underpayment detection, and contract optimization in one place.

Get a Demo

What is International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding Systems (ICD-10-PCS)?

The International Classification of Diseases, Tenth Revision, Procedure Coding Systems (ICD-10-PCS) is a standardized medical coding system used to classify and code procedures performed in healthcare settings. It is a part of the larger ICD-10 family of coding systems, which includes ICD-10-CM (Clinical Modification) used for diagnosis coding. ICD-10-PCS is specifically designed for use in the United States healthcare system and is maintained and updated by the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) and the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS).ICD-10-PCS provides a comprehensive and standardized way to describe medical procedures, interventions, and services performed in hospitals and other healthcare facilities. It consists of a set of alphanumeric codes that represent specific procedures and their associated details. These codes are used for various purposes, including billing, reimbursement, statistical analysis, research, and quality improvement.

How is ICD-10-PCS different from ICD-10-CM?

ICD-10-PCS and ICD-10-CM are two distinct coding systems within the ICD-10 family. While both systems are used for medical coding, they serve different purposes and focus on different aspects of healthcare documentation.ICD-10-CM (Clinical Modification) is primarily used for diagnosis coding. It provides codes to classify diseases, injuries, symptoms, and other health conditions. These codes are used to describe the reason for a patient's encounter with the healthcare system and are essential for medical billing, insurance claims, and statistical analysis.

On the other hand, ICD-10-PCS is used for procedure coding. It focuses on coding the specific procedures and interventions performed during a patient's encounter with the healthcare system. ICD-10-PCS codes provide detailed information about the techniques, approaches, devices, and substances used in a procedure. These codes are crucial for accurate billing, reimbursement, and tracking of healthcare services.

In summary, while ICD-10-CM is used for diagnosis coding, ICD-10-PCS is used for procedure coding. Both coding systems work together to provide a comprehensive picture of a patient's healthcare encounter.

How is ICD-10-PCS structured?

ICD-10-PCS codes are structured in a hierarchical manner, consisting of seven alphanumeric characters. Each character represents a specific aspect of the procedure being coded.

The structure of an ICD-10-PCS code is as follows:

1. Section: The first character represents the section of the ICD-10-PCS system. There are 17 sections, each representing a broad category of procedures. Examples of sections include Medical and Surgical, Obstetrics, Imaging, and Radiation Therapy.

2. Body System: The second character represents the body system or general anatomical region involved in the procedure. There are 31 body system values, such as Respiratory, Nervous, Digestive, and Musculoskeletal.

3. Root Operation: The third character represents the root operation, which describes the objective of the procedure. There are 31 root operations, including Excision, Resection, Repair, Transplantation, and Extraction.

4. Body Part: The fourth character represents the specific body part or anatomical site involved in the procedure. It provides further specificity regarding the location of the procedure.

5. Approach: The fifth character represents the approach used to reach the site of the procedure. It describes the method or technique used to access the body part. Examples of approaches include Open, Percutaneous, Percutaneous Endoscopic, and Via Natural or Artificial Opening.

6. Device: The sixth character represents the device, if any, used during the procedure. It indicates whether a device was left in place or implanted as part of the procedure.

7. Qualifier: The seventh character represents additional details or qualifiers related to the procedure. It provides additional information about the procedure, such as the type of anesthesia used, the number of sites involved, or the type of fracture.

By combining these seven characters, a complete ICD-10-PCS code is created, providing a detailed description of the procedure performed.

Improve your financial performance while providing a more transparent patient experience

Full Page Background